Lightbulb Moment

January 12, 2011

A benefit to being a member of a cooperative gallery is the other artists one meets and can learn from.  Last Friday I was working at the Topeka Art Guild Gallery with a woman I had not met before.  Someone bought some of the cards she had for sale in the gallery.  On the cards she had attached photos of either her painting or her photography.  The cards were beautiful and priced at only $2 each, which is probably a little low.

Suddenly a lightbulb went off in my head.  I have a big family.  I send a lot of birthday cards, not only to family but to friends, as well as get well cards and cards for other occasions.  The Hallmark cards I’ve been buying cost about twice what hers did.  I have digital photos of my paintings on my computer.  I have a good color printer, although the creator of those cards thinks it is cheaper to get them printed at one of those machines you find in various stores.  I could send friends and relatives cards featuring my paintings.  This would not only be a more personal greeting, but would save me money as well.

She told me I could buy 50 blank cards and envelopes at Hobby Lobby for about $7.00.   When I went there to buy them, they happened to be on sale so I bought them for even less than that.  The photos are attached to the cards with a glue stick, which I had not used before, but I find it works very well.  She also put labels she printed on the back of the card with her name and contack information.

I have a friend in the hospital and another with a birthday coming up.  Both of them will receive cards from me with my painting on the front.  Now all I have to do is write my own messages.

Leave a Reply

