Inspiration

February 16, 2011

It’s always good to keep a stash of photos specifically for painting inspiration.  You don’t want to have to search through boxes of envelopes with photos and negatives or try to find just the one you want on your computer.  Now that I have a digital camera, when a photo seems like a likely candidate for a painting , I print it and put in one of the envelopes I keep for painting inspiration.  You never know what an art show will require in the way of subject matter.

Still thinking about that show that wants Kansas paintings that have never  been shown, I began looking through my stash of painting photos.  I came across an old one taken in the Flint Hills during one of those outdoor painting weeks that Cottonwood Falls used to sponsor.  I had meant to paint it long ago but never did, probably because it had some horses in it and I’m not very experienced at painting animals.

But for some reason, when I looked at that photo yesterday of the vast sky, springtime prairie and yes, even those horses, I knew that this time I could do it.  I even had a canvas that seemed the right size already stretched to fit a frame that I have.  I started painting yesterday afternoon and plan to continue today.  It’s too early to tell how it will turn out but I feel up for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

