Come to the Party

February 23, 2011

I’m always looking for places to exhibit my work and a new one turned up recently via email.  Lawrence now has Final Friday events in the evening of the last Friday of each month at a number of small galleries, the Lawrence Art Center and the Lawrence Art Guild’s 1109 Gallery.  My email turned up a new participant. 

They call themselves Lawrence Art Party and are signing up artists to show their work in the ground floor of the Hobbs Taylor Lofts building, 718 New Hampshire any Final Fridays they wish.  The organizers, George Paley, Eric Kirkendall, and Whirled Art, promise food and music, this month by Big Stack Daddy, and say that 600 people attended their January event.  That sounds good to me, so I’ve signed up for Friday from 5-9 p.m. along with 24 other artists.

I have exhibited in this space before when I was in one of the Lawrence Own Your Own (LOYO) shows there a few years ago.  I have my own screens so finding a place to hang my paintings won’t be a problem.  The poster, featuring an example of each artist’s work, that I’ve seen advertising this event tells me my art is way more traditional than that of most of these people.  But I’ll keep an open mind if they will.

I also have three paintings on exhibit at the 1109 Gallery, which is open on Final Friday evenings.  It sounds like fun so come on downtown Friday Feb. 25 and check us out.

Leave a Reply

