Another Sale

May 27, 2011

I was initially disappointed when I had no sales from my exhibit at Theatre Lawrence.  But this week I sold a small painting, “Woodland Blossoms,” to a woman who had seen it there.  She’s a fellow artist and happened to come in to the 1109 Gallery while I was working there.  She told me how much she liked the painting, which was done outdoors about this time last summer, and as we talked she decided she wanted to buy it.

I was surprised because she is also a painter and a rather abstract one at that.  She is also a more prominent local painter than I am.  Of course I think artists should be supportive of other artists, but I have so many paintings of my own that I would almost never buy a painting.  I have, however bought a lovely glass vase, several pieces of pottery and jewelry and a lovely hand-dyed shawl from local artists.  After all, who better to appreciate art than an artist.

Leave a Reply

