Defying Age

June 15, 2011

Disappointed about having to cancel a major vacation trip because of a bum knee, I am consoling myself by painting a 24″ x 36″ canvas from a photo I took in the Monet Garden section of the Overland Park, KS, Arboretum, which I visited with friends in April.  This would also be a wonderful place for plein air painting.  If you live in the area and haven’t been there, this is a must see.

I have noticed that often the work of aging artists tends to get smaller and simpler and I can understand why.  Our attention span and stamina are not as great as in our younger days.  So I set out to prove that, yes, I could still paint a large canvas.  Although in this economy I wonder, why bother?  If I sell anything at all, it will be something small.  I work on it a little at a time and so far it is going well, if you like a huge expanse of varying colors of green.  But that’s the way spring looks around here.

 

Leave a Reply

