Reprieve

August 3, 2011

I had been scheduled for major surgery last week with the prospect of a long recovery.  But circumstances beyond my control caused it to be postponed.  So suddenly I had an empty calendar, something that just never happens.  So of course I proceeded to add to it, concentrating on art shows I hadn’t expected to be able to enter.   The Topeka Art Guild entry date was coming up for a show called True to Form (Shapes, Forms and Objects).  Fortunately, I had an almost completed painting of large mountain shapes done from a photo I took in the Austrian Lake District a couple years ago.  (You can see it on the current exhibits page.)  It was easier to finish than I expected so I’ve turned that in along with two other paintings from the vast collection in my basement.  From that same collection I’ve chosen three paintings for the upcoming 1109 Gallery Show.  Now all I have to do is frame two of them.

I’ve also applied and been accepted for the Lawrence Art Party from 5-9 p.m. on August 24.  It’s in a different location now, 739 Massachusetts St. in Lawrence, because this location is air conditioned.  Only 20 artists are accepted for each show, and Lawrence is home to vast numbers of them, so I’m glad I was accepted.  I’m back to painting again too, trying to finish that 24″ x 36″ painting of a scene in the Overland Park Arboretum in time to show it at Lawrence Art Party.  I shall enjoy each and every day until surgery looms again.

Leave a Reply

