Finished at Last

August 10, 2011

It is easy to put off working on a big complicated painting when the possibility of finishing it seems iffy or somewhere in the distant future.   It is easier to work on plein air pieces that have been almost completed out of doors and may only a require a short time to finish.  But finally, this afternoon I finished the large (for me) 24″ x 36″ painting of a scene from the Overland Park Arboretum that I photographed back in April.  I took lots of photos that day but the one I chose to paint from was what was labeled as the Monet Garden.  I’ve looked in my art books at Monet’s paintings of his garden.  About the only resenblence I see is the greenish colored bridge across the water.  In my painting there are lots of magenta flowers that a friend calls sweet rocket.  I don’t know if they grow in France.

I wanted to post this painting but did not have a page with the right description so I started a new page called simply Miscellaneous.  To it I have also added a painting of a bed and breakfast in Augusta, MO, where I used to go for a week’s plein air painting event in April and a painting done from a photo from the restaurant at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art.  It’s called Rozzelle Court and if you are ever at the Nelson, it’s worth a visit.

Leave a Reply

