Lawrence Art Party

August 26, 2011

Once again it’s time for The Final Friday art event in Lawrence, which occurs tonight.  The Lawrence Journal World lists 19 locations where art lovers can enjoy a wide variety of art.  How about some of these show titles:  Every Picture Tells a Story: The Rolling Stone Years,  Dear Lawrence photo exhibit, Just Hanging, Under The Influence, Horizons – Land and Spirit, Midwest Mandalas.  Some of these locations will also feature refreshments and music.  Best of all, you can walk into any or all of these art spaces for free.

I have three paintings in the 1109 Gallery “Horizons” show.  I will also once again be participating in Lawrence Art Party, this time at its new locaction at 739 Massachusetts Street.  The old location on New Hampshire Street had no air conditioning and no restroom.  (We visited nearby restaurants.)  But it was easy to find parking nearby.  And that’s a big plus when it comes to lugging screens and paintings around, especially for someone doing it by themselves as I do.  I’m thinking it will be a lot harder to find parking at the new location on Massachusetts Street, Lawrence’s main downtown street.

I’m glad that some years ago I ordered my screens from Graphic Display Systems, a Pennsylvania company.  These lightweight screens come in segments, the lower part three feet by three feet and an upper part 40 inches by three feet that is easily attached.  You can then attach as many of these two part screens together as you wish.  For Art Party I use two of these two part segments.  The hardware at the bottom also makes it possible for the screens to be at angles from each other if this is desired.  Paintings are hung on the screens with drapery hooks.

So this afternoon I’ll be packing my minivan with screens, eight paintings of various sizes, and a chair.  In addition I’ll need to take cards for each painting, my business cards and a list of the paintings, their prices and what the price including tax is, in case I should actually sell something.  Art is an adventure, including a search for that elusive parking space.

Leave a Reply

