Farewell Old Friend

November 11, 2011

I’m already missing something that has often been with me when I paint for almost 14 years.  That would be my painting shirt, which I recently reluctantly threw in the trash.  It had acquired a lot of paint splotches in that time and acrylic paint does not come out in the wash.  My son-in-law gave it to me when I was making an extended visit to their house in winter  and wanted to paint to occupy my time.  I didn’t have my usual painting clothes with me and asked him if he had an old shirt I could wear.

He’s a tall man and he gave me a large sized shirt with cream and black vertical stripes.  I’ve worn it ever since.  When I paint outdoors and wear that shirt along with a straw hat people must think I look arty because they have taken my picture numerous times in that outfit.  One of my friends who was outdoors painting with me even did a small watercolor sketch of me in that shirt and hat that now hangs in my office.

Alas, the shirt I’m wearing now just doesn’t have the same character.  It’s one of husband’s castoffs in dull gray with what look like oil stains on it.  But it will have to do until something better comes along.  I don’t think artists wear smocks and berets any more.

Leave a Reply

