Happy New Year

Jan. 5, 2012

The new year got off to a great start for this artist when I sold “Maryam’s Hidden Lake,” a 24″ x 30″ painting done on site at a local artist’s country property.  The couple who bought it, as a result of seeing it in the Lawrence Public Library exhibit in December, have bought three of my paintings in the past.  It is not often I find such loyal patrons outside of family members.

So now I’m more inspired to paint than ever.  In preparation, I was out yesterday looking for bargain priced frames.  Hobby Lobby often has some marked down frames stuck in a out of the way place far from the framing department.  I found two, one in the now fashionable black and the other a narrow dark brown.  They are odd sizes so I will have to drive to Coldsnows in Overland Park, which is the only location in this area I have found to buy odd sized canvas stretchers.  I also used the Hobby Lobby coupon for 40% off, often found in their ad in the Sunday paper, to buy a large tube of paint.

At the second location I tried, The Salvation Army store in Lawrence, I was lucky to find two small undamaged frames.  The problem with most Salvation Army or Goodwill frames is that they are damaged.  For these frames, which will hold paintings only about 9″ x 9 or 10,” I will simply buy a canvas board at Hobby Lobby and cut it to size.

So yesterday, in a friend’s studio, I started the first of this year’s paintings, which I hope will be a group of images that I and others will enjoy for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

