Making Plans

March 25, 2012

If an artist’s paintings are ever to be seen by anyone but friends and family, there is a continuing search for places to show them with the hope that eventually some will find new homes.  But which opportunities are the right fit for me and my artistic expression?

I recently received an invitation to donate a painting to a charity auction that I participated in two years ago.  I donated a painting and my daughter and I enjoyed attending the auction party.  I was all set to sign up again until I read the fine print.  This year they were providing a free ticket only to the artist.  The auction was in the Kansas City area.  I live in Lawrence and don’t drive on the highway at night.  I am not going to pay for an expensive ticket just for the privilege of giving away one of my paintings.  So that letter went in the circular file.

The Topeka Art Guild’s upcoming April and May show, “Earth, Wind, Water and Fire,” has an outside juror.  That meant that the price of entering the show was raised but I entered three paintings anyway.  One of them is the new Irish painting, “Irish Countryside.”  I’ve posted it on the Faraway Places page.  There is no refund if none get in.  I’ll find out sometime this week how I did.

Some time ago I entered the Lawrence Art Guild’s annual Art in the Park, which is always the first Sunday in May with a rain date for the second Sunday.  I recently learned I have been accepted.  That’s an outdoor show and the number of people who attend is pretty much dependent on the weather.

I’m thinking about trying Lawrence Art Party in April, part of Final Friday with evening openings of Lawrence art spaces.  As long as I’m still painting, I’ll keep on looking and hoping for that ideal opportunity.

 

Leave a Reply

