Artists Speak

May 1, 2012

I don’t usually find anything very interesting in the mail these days.  The few pieces in the mail box tend to be bills, advertisements, or letters from charities wanting money.  But a few days ago my mail box yielded an exception.  The brochure was from Bert Nash, a community mental health center in Lawrence.  Its title was “The Art of Mental Health,” and it featured quotes by famous artists and some photos of paintings by local artists.

For an organization that is not an arts organization, the choice of quotes says to me that these people really get what art and artists are all about.  I could say, “Oh yes!’ to most of these quotes and if you are an artist, I’ll bet you could too.  So here are some of those quotes.

“Painting is just another way of keeping a dairy.”  Pablo Picasso

“Art is not what you see, but what you make other see.”  Edgar Degas

“I dream of painting and then paint my dream.”  Vincent Van Gogh

“Color is my day-long obsession, joy and torment.”  Claude Monet

“One must attempt things that are beyond one’s capacity.”  Auguste Renoir

Leave a Reply

