A Good Week

Douglas County Winter - Acrylic, 16" x 20"

Douglas County Winter – Acrylic, 16″ x 20″

April 21, 2013

This has been a good week for me as an artist. On Thursday I attended a reception at Presbyterian Manor in Lawrence, KS, for their Art is Ageless show. Any senior citizen, not just those living there, could enter two pieces, done in the last five years, in one of the various categories of the show. I entered two paintings in the Painting category and was pleased to see that I received a second place ribbon for the above painting. The first and second place winners in each category were photographed and submitted to the headquarters of the Manor chain in Wichita. There judges will choose among those submitted by the various Manors and the winners will appear on next year’s calendar.

I enjoyed the reception complete with delicious goodies and a rose for each entrant. But most of all I was glad to talk to several women I used to know who I hadn’t seen in years. It is sadly true that once a person moves into a care facility and can no longer drive they tend to drop out of sight. We all need to remember not to lose touch with those who are no longer able to be as active in the general community as they once were.

Then Saturday a woman who already owns two of my paintings came to my house and bought one she had seen and liked on her last visit. These events encourage me to keep on painting even as spring weather remains elusive and foils my desire to paint outside.

If you live in the Lawrence area, don’t forget to put Lawrence Art in the Park May 5 from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in South Park on Massachusetts Street on your calendar. I’ll be there with my tent. The artists have already been assigned their spots and I will be on Massachusetts Street.

Leave a Reply

