Rain, Rain, Go Away

Reverie, acrylic, 20" x 8"

Reverie, acrylic, 20″ x 8″

June 6, 2013

In the final week of Stems Plein Air at the Overland Park, KS, Arboretum I only painted one day because of rainy weather, of which we’ve had an abundance lately.  When one is painting with other artists in a plein air event it can be a challenge to come up with something that looks at least somewhat original, since other artists are painting in the same location.  Above is my attempt.  I had found a frame I liked that was 8″ x 20″ and I stretched a canvas to fit it.  The usual way to paint on a long, narrow canvas is horizontally.  So I did a vertical painting and I like the results.

At the end of the event each artist could turn in three paintings for judging to decide which ones will be in a show.  The above painting is one of three I turned in.  I also turned in the one of the lake I did the first week.  I haven’t found out the results of the judging yet.

In the meantime I am in another show that is not dependent on weather, since it is inside on the lower level of Drury Place in Lawrence.  I and several other artists are showing there during June.  Drury Place is an independent living retirement facility.  The people there live in small apartments and probably already have any art that they want, so I don’t expect any sales.  But it is still a good thing to do since even people who may no longer be driving can still enjoy and appreciate art.  I’ve had compliments from a couple of the residents whom I know.

But the weather is a big concern for Saturday June 8 when rain is predicted.  I have agreed to participate in Winesong in the DeSoto, Ks, area.  It is an event featuring wine tasting from local vinyards, food, as well as art by 25 different artists.  I’ll be there in my tent hoping some of the folks who have already purchased tickets will love wine and art enough to brave any inclement weather.

Leave a Reply

