Water, Water Everywhere

Irish Countryside, Acrylic, 18" x 24"

Irish Countryside, Acrylic, 18″ x 24″

When I’m doing a one-person show I like to have a theme and I’ve been painting long enough that I can usually come up with quite a few paintings that have something in common.  Some of the themes I’ve used are paintings with flowers, Midwestern country, autumn, spring, and Lawrence scenes.  Once I even did an exhibit of nothing but barn and shed paintings.

During July and August I have an exhibit of 25 paintings at the Classic Bean in downtown Topeka.  The theme I’m using here is one I’ve never done before and that is water.  I noticed that two of my recent paintings were of ocean scenes and I have also done many paintings featuring lakes, ponds or streams.  The exhibit also has three paintings of winter scenes with frozen water.  In fact, as I looked through my stash of paintings I was surprised at how many had water in them.  The photo above is one of them.  Stop by and have a look if you’re in Topeka.  The food is good here too.

I recently returned from being out of town and was pleased to find that my painting “Reverie” that I did at the Overland Park Arboretum had sold.  I remember when I was at the Rice Gallery to pick up my paintings not chosen for the show.  I asked when my painting that had been chosen  should be picked up after the show.  The man in charge said, “The paintings are all going to sell.”  Of course both he and I knew that wasn’t going to happen.  But at least mine did sell.  I won’t get much for it as it was a small painting and the artist only gets 60 percent of the price.  But at least I won’t have to make the trip into the Kansas City area to pick it up.

Leave a Reply

