The Traveling Artist

Colorado Meadow, Acrylic, 14" x 18"

Colorado Meadow, Acrylic, 14″ x 18″

August 1, 2013

I recently returned from a trip to Colorado for a family reunion.  While younger members climbed a mountain, rode on a zipline, rode horses, swam, roller skated, etc., I chose to spend part of almost every day sitting outdoors in beautiful settings, such as the one above, painting.  It was fortunate that husband and I reached the reunion site in our minivan.  This gave me plenty of room to bring along everything I usually take with me when I plein air paint.  My equipment includes a heavy French easel, a lawn chair, a TV tray, canvases, palette, water, paper towels.  The list can go on and on.

But what if I couldn’t reach my destination totally by car?  There is a trip I’m planning in the future where I will need to take a plane to my destination and then rent a car.  Airlines are very particular about what a person can take, how much it can weigh, etc.  So I’ve been doing some advanced planning.  I don’t want to spend a lot of money on new equipment.  But here’s what I’ve come up with.

Instead of a heavy easel I’m going to borrow a music stand from a daughter.  I’m hoping that will work as an easel unless there is a lot of wind.  I found a large suitcase in the basement which my TV tray will just barely fit in.  I have looked on line and found that Dick’s Sporting Goods has a portable, fold up stool on sale for only 20$.  I plan to take three canvases that will each fit inside the other, 16″ x 20″, 14″ x 18″, and 12″ x 16.”  I’ll take my paper palette and only a few, mostly large, tubes of paint in basic colors that I can mix.  My water container will be plastic.

Now I only need to figure out how to include clothing, shoes, and kit for personal care.  I’ve never tried taking painting supplies on a plane before but I’m hoping for the best.

13 thoughts on “The Traveling Artist

  1. I would like to thank my wonderful mother-in-law for letting me paint with her for a few days while in Colorado. I learned quite a bit about painting in just 2 short days. Jewell, you are a wonderful artist. Shanna

  2. Hello. Today the application of ask. This is a definitely smartly authored report. I will be sure to bookmark it plus get back to study additional of your handy data. Thank you for a post. We’ll surely give back.

  3. Pingback: WAMS, Inc.

  4. Pingback: Visit Our Website

  5. Pingback: Chesapeake Veterinary Cardiology Associates

  6. Pingback: American Liver Foundation

  7. Pingback: Smucker & Sons

  8. Pingback: http://www.wilcoelectric.com/Latest/lowest-electric-rates.html

  9. Pingback: Penns Trail Self Storage

  10. Pingback: Our Company's Website

  11. Pingback: ImagIT

  12. Pingback: Click For Info

Leave a Reply

