Something Different

Om Pah, Acrylic, 11" x 8"

It’s a new year and a time to try new things.  Looking through some photos I’ve taken on my travels, I came across one of a street musician.  He was part of a group of several.  I don’t often have people in my paintings but I wanted to try something different.  I had the photo in my computer in Picassa, so I tried the posterize setting to see what would happen.  This gave me some new ideas about color, both different colors and blocks of color.  The above small painting is the result.

I’m now working on another person painting but not in that style.  I think we always have to be alert to notice scenes that cry out to be painted and have a small camera or sketch pad ready to record them.   My opportunity came during the holidays when a visiting relative was curled up on the sofa in an interesting pose.  I quickly snapped a photo, even though I seldom do portraits and haven’t done one for a couple years.  I’ve already laid in the basic design on canvas and look forward to the challenge of not only achieving a likeness but a good painting.  The fields, fence posts and barns will still be waiting for me when spring finally arrives.

Leave a Reply

