A Happy Birthday

April 6, 2014

If you are reading this, you have noticed the new look the first page of my blog has now.  I’ve wanted to change the rather blah  first page for some time but didn’t know how to do it.  Now my “On the Road” painting is featured at the top along with the titles of the various pages where you can view my paintings, find out where I’m showing and learn a little bit about me.  All this happened because I am about to have a birthday.

When husband asked what I wanted for my birthday, I knew I didn’t need more stuff.  What I needed was help with technology I don’t seem able to cope with.  Fortunately, since he doesn’t like shopping and understands more about computers than I do, he was willing to give revising the first page of my blog a try.  And it didn’t take him long to be successful.

If there is an artist among the loved ones in your life, here are some ideas for gifts to celebrate their special occasions.  Producing art is expensive, so the most obvious gift is a gift certificate to their favorite art supply store.  If your artist is not already subscribing to an art magazine there are a number to choose from.  I subscribe to “The Artist,” a general how to magazine for painters.  “American Artist also falls into this category.  There are also specialized publications, such as “Watercolor Artist” or “Plein Air Magazine.”  For just looking at the representational art being done by really good artists, “Southwest Art” is great.  And this is a gift that can be shared by passing on copies to others with similar interests.  If you look in the back of the how to magazines, you’ll find ads for DVDs demonstrating the techniques of professional artists in a variety of fields. These could also be gift possibilities.

If your artist is technology challenged like me, help him or her set up a web site or blog.  This is a gift that can be used indefinitely.  Another way to be helpful to a plein air artist is to share your land or flower garden as a painting site.  If you liked the result and bought it, that could benefit both of you.  So happy gift giving and receiving.

Leave a Reply

