Remember Me

The Sightseers, Acrylic, 18" x 24"

The Sightseers, Acrylic, 18″ x 24″

May 27, 2014

One way for an artist to keep the paintings from overrunning the available wall space is to occasionally give a painting as a gift.  Three years ago when a granddaughter was the first of my grandchildren to graduate from high school, I let her choose a painting from among those hanging in my basement gallery as a graduation gift.  She was surprised, I think, and chose one of my sunflower paintings.  This year her brother graduated from high school.  When I told him he could choose a painting as a graduation gift, he surprised me by telling me he had already picked one out.  He had never shown any interest in my art that I knew of.  Yet because his sister had received a painting he assumed he would too.  “I’ve had my eye on it for some time, he said.”

So now that grandson has the above painting.  Although he is still living at home, who knows where he and that painting will reside through the years and what sights he will see.   I hope he will take that painting with him.  And maybe some day when he has children and they ask him about those elk, he will tell them about his artist  grandmother who traveled to Glacier National Park and stayed in a great lodge, saw those elk on the terrace, took  a photo and turned it into a painting.  That would be a good way to be remembered.

Leave a Reply

