AUTUMN EVENTS

07.tif
Fog Rising, acrylic, 20″ x 28″

As the days become cooler and people return from vacations or venture out of their air conditioned houses, social life accelerates. Among the events vying for our attention are several related to art. Art and charity seem to be combining frequently as the organizations that serve our communities add art auctions to their fundraising events.

I am donating paintings to two of these this fall. The Joshua Center, which serves the social, emotional and educational needs of neurologically impaired children, will hold their annual dinner and art auction in the Camelot Ballroom at 6635 W. 151 St. in Overland Park, KS, from 5-10 p.m. on Sept. 19. This is the favorite charity of my daughter-in-law so for the third year I will donate a painting to their art auction. The Women Build group of Lawrence Habitat has scheduled a Happy Homes Happy Hour at the Carnegie Building at 200 W. 9th, in Lawrence, KS, from 5-7 on Oct. 9 which will feature an art auction. My contribution is the painting pictured above.

I hope my art will bring a good price for these groups who do so much good, but the fact is that most paintings at auctions, except for those by very well known artists, are lucky to bring half what the artist lists their value at. But there are exceptions. Last spring at a charity auction one of my paintings sold for the highest price any one has ever paid for one of my paintings. But whatever they sell for, they will no longer be hanging on my basement wall and there will be room for new paintings.

I’m looking forward to two other art events this fall. During September and October the Topeka Art Guild Gallery will feature their annual juried show, Kansans Paint Kansas. I recently finished the three paintings I plan to enter. On October 24-25 I will be a participant in Lawrence Art Walk, when the public can meet artists and see their creations in their homes and studios. I’m glad to see this event on the schedule again with new people stepping up to organize it after the previous director moved back to England.

When marking your fall calendar be sure to include some art events. Visit a gallery, attend a charity auction, talk with artists about their work in their studios. You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

