Getting Ready for Art Walk

Kentucky Street, Acrylic, 14" x 20"

Kentucky Street, Acrylic, 14″ x 20″

Now that fall has arrived with cooler days that encourage folks to be out and about, it’s time to get ready for Lawrence Art Walk, which is scheduled for October 24th and 25th, from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Saturday and from noon to 6 p.m. on Sunday.  This is the 20th year that Lawrence artists have opened their studios to the public and I have participated many of those years.  It’s a great way for artists to introduce their friends and neighbors to what they create without having to pack up paintings, screens, tent etc. and haul them to another location.  But it does take a certain amount of preparation.

I want to make sure some of my most recent paintings are framed and ready to hang, although since I have quite a lot of wall space in my exhibit area, there will also be paintings from past years.  Most will have a Midwestern theme but there will also be paintings based on my yearly trips to Colorado and also from places farther away.  With each of those paintings I will include a card listing the title, media, and price.  I still have quite a few of those to print.  The last few years I have also been making cards with photos of various paintings and those will be for sale too.  I need to make some more since I have been using up the cards for birthdays of my large extended family.  I’m also going to have a stack of unframed paintings from past years for sale at garage sale prices.  But those still have to be chosen and removed from storage.

Maps will be available at each artist’s location and there are 21 of us this year.  We are painters, photographers, and those who work with ceramics or glass.  Since I have to be here with my work, I can’t see what those other artists have on display in their studios.  But if you and I want to see some examples of the creations of the Art Walk artists, the Phoenix Underground Gallery in downtown Lawrence has an exhibit of paintings by those artists that will continue during October.

I’ve had some good news recently.  My painting, “Kansas Hay Bales,” which I entered in the Topeka Art Guild’s current Kansans Paint Kansas juried show, won an honorable mention.  That show will continue until the end of November.

Leave a Reply

