Art and the Holidays

Dec. 31, 2015

While I’ve been too busy to paint during the holidays, art continues to be a part of my life.  And I’ve been learning about a new form that may or may not be something I would consider art.  We had a big gathering of relatives here to celebrate Christmas with lots of presents under the tree.  Among those were crayons, magic markers and paper for a three year old and a big set of art supplies and sketchbooks for an 11 year old.  Both these gifts were requested by their moms and I think it’s great when parents want to encourage creativity in their children.

But then I listened to what several adult women had to say about a new activity for adults, adult coloring books.  One had received a book as a gift and had tried it and enjoyed it.  Another, who has done some creative art, is buying the books for herself as a form of relaxation after a day on the job.  A young woman who works at a senior care facility said a woman of very advanced age who lived in the facility spent many happy hours with such books.

I don’t know what to make of this.  It is true that these books are nothing like the coloring books children used to use.  The adult version features intricate abstract designs that are filled in with colored pencils.  Is this a creative activity?  I suppose some would say so.  I’m not against people following patterns.  Women who sew, quilt, knit or crochet have been doing that for many years and create attractive, creative and useful items.  But what does one do with a completed page in a coloring book?  Another thought.  While both men and women pursue various forms of the arts, I can’t imagine a man using an adult coloring book.  But I’ll try to keep an open mind even though I won’t be buying one for myself.

 

One thought on “Art and the Holidays

  1. Pingback: From Guestwriters 2015 in review | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

