THE AGING ARTIST

While many people retire at around age 65 and completely stop doing what they’ve spent much of their time doing for years, this does not seem to be true of artists.  Instead, some may find that when they stop earning a living, they have more time for art.  And even those who have been creating art for years may not be willing to give it up just because they are aging.

But we artists have to be realistic.  As an aging painter I know that there are physical aspects of what I do that become more difficult with the passing years.  If I want to keep on painting, and I do, I will have to adapt.  And as it happens, I’ve found several ways to do that.  The first, which I did several years ago, was to buy a new French easel that had wheels and a long handle like my suitcase.  I ordered it from Blick, but their current catalog doesn’t have one.  I’m often a plein air painter and carrying a heavy easel and other gear was getting harder. Then there are the acrylic paints that I use.  Those small metal lids seem to easily have paint stick in them and are hard to open.  If I’m painting inside, I run hot water over them and that helps, but I can’t do that if I’m painting outside.  So now I use only Liquitex paints with their big plastic lids that will open no matter where I am.

I find that a camera is a vital tool.  I photograph the scene I’m painting in plein air in case I need to finish the painting at home.  And I always photograph every finished painting and put the photos on my computer in case I need them to enter art shows.  The problem was that my hands are not as steady as they used to be.  At home I use a tripod but when I’m outside and want to photograph something I might want to paint some day, I don’t want a blurred picture.  When my current camera stopped working and I had to buy a new one, I chose a small Sony that was advertised as taking very sharp pictures.  And it does.  Husband says it is because of the higher number of pixels.

My latest gadget, which I used for the first time on our recent tour of gardens in England, is shown above, a cane with a fold up seat.  I took it because I knew I couldn’t do a lot of walking without having to sit down and rest occasionally.  But I discovered it was very useful for sketching, since it provided me a place to sit in the exact location I wanted.  I had ordered it on the internet a few years ago for a previous trip and didn’t use it then.  So with a little help from these aids, I plan to continue painting.

 

 

Leave a Reply

